As the 1970’s turned into the 1980’s, reggae’s beat took another turn, slowing down
to allow more space for the music to breathe. This new sound became reggae’s focus
and the Roots Radics, one of Jamaica’s finest session/ backing bands were at the
forefront of this radical change.

The Roots Radics were based around the nucleus of Errol ’Flabba’ Holt (bass),
Lincoln Valentine ‘Style’ Scott (drums) and Eric ‘Bingi Bunny’ Lamont (guitar).
Holt and Bingi Bunny had previously been involved in the Morwells label set up
and had cut some popular tunes such as ‘Swine and Dine’, ’They Hold Us Down’
and the great ‘Kingston Twelve Tuffy’. Before this Bunny had played foe one of
the other great reggae session bands the Channel One based Revolutionaires.
It was the demise of this legendary band due to Sly and Robbie’s commitments
to their own Taxi label that lead to the formation of the Roots Radics.

The Radics have worked with many different producers over the years including
Linval Thompson with the series of albums ‘Space Invaders Destroy the world’ and
‘Win the World Cup’. They also worked as Gregory Issacs backing band and were
responsible for the rhythms that made up his seminal ‘Night Nurse’ set.
We have caught the Roots Radics band for this set, cutting rhythms in their
favourite environment the famous Channel One Studios. On this occasion
working with producer Ossie Thomas creating rhythms for his own Black Solidarity
label. So here you have it a fine set of cracking rhythms cut for the great Black Solidarity
label at the famous Channel 1 Studio…a match made in heaven


CD Track Listing
1. A Prospering Dub
2. Time and Place to Dub
3. Good Looking Dub
4. Scandal Dub
5. Postman Dub
6. That Girl Dub Dub
7. Bubbling Dub
8. Pon The Dub
9. Buying Out The Dub
10. Ram Jam Dub
11. Next To Dub
12. Talk About Dub
13. Rock Rock Dub*
14. Natural Dub*
15. M and D Dub Special*
16 Dancing Dub*
CD Bonus Track

Vinyl Track Listing
Side 1
1. A Prospering Dub
2. Time and Place to Dub
3. Good Looking Dub
4. Scandal Dub
5. Postman Dub
6. That Girl Dub Dub

Side 2
1. Bubbling Dub
2. Pon The Dub
3. Buying Out The Dub
4. Ram Jam Dub
5. Next To Dub
6. Talk About Dub

Musicians Include:

The Roots Radics:
Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis & Lincoln Valentine ‘Style’ Scott: Drums
Errol ‘Flabba’ Holt: Bass
Winston ‘Bo Peep’ Bowen & Eric ‘Bingy Bunny’ Lamont: Rhythm Guitar
Noel ‘Sowell’ Bailey, Roy Hamilton, Dwight Pinkney & Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith: Lead Guitar
Gladstone ‘Gladdy’ Anderson, Ansel Collins, Wycliffe ‘Steely’ Johnson & Errol ‘Tarzan’ Nelson: Keyboards
Christopher ‘Sky Juice’ Blake: Percussion

Wilburn ‘Squidley’ Cole: Drums
Christopher Meredith & Earl ‘Bagga’ Walker: Bass
Robert ‘Robbie’ Lyn: Piano
Herbie Harris: Keyboards
Anthony ‘Tony Asher’ Brissett: Synthesizer
Christopher ‘Sky Juice’ Blake & Noel ‘Scully’ Simms: Percussion
Junior ‘Chico’ Chin, Dean ‘Youth Sax’ Fraser, Tony Green & Ronald ‘

Produced & Arranged by: Ossie Thomas, Triston Palma, Howie Thomas, Philip Morgan & Chris Thomas
Recorded at: Channel 1
Design by: Gary@Voodoo London
Manufactured under Licence from: Ossie ‘Black Solidarity’ Thomas
Made In the U.K.
All tracks copyright control