Record producer / DJ / Record Plugger and Record Shop owner, Herman Chin-Loy
operated out of his Aquarius Record shop at Half Way Three, Kingston, Jamaica.
It’s from this base that he started his recording studio where he not only put out the
first ever dub album ‘Aquarius Dub’ but was also responsible for naming future artist
Horace Swaby. By allowing him to use his exotic fictitious working name
‘Augustus Pablo’ for his own recording career.

Herman Chin- Loy (b 11th July, 1948, Trelawny, Jamaica) opened his first record shop
‘One Stop’ at 125 King Street, Kingston, before moving to premises at Half Way Tree.
He was already producing records when he worked at KG’s around 1969, as a DJ and
Record Plugger with hits like Lloyd Charmers ‘Shanghi’ and ‘African Zulu’. It was through
his knowledge as a DJ at the various Sound System dances and the people coming into
his record shop looking for these exclusive dubs, that he hit on the idea of putting out a
dub album. It’s around this time in 1971 that a youth by the name of Horace Swaby
entered his shop carrying a melodica which at this time was little more than a child’s toy.
Herman liked its sound and took a chance in recording Horace. His track ‘I Man’ an early
cut to ‘Cassava Piece’ appears on this seminal album ‘Aquarius Dub’. Although called
Aquarius Dub the tracks that made up this album were cut at Dynamic Sounds, Harry J’s
and Randy’s Studio 17. It was not long after this release that Herman opened the first
ever twenty four track studio Aquarius Studios., We have compiled this set of dub tracks
that were worked on at Aquarius Studio’s itself. Using the legendary studio for some of
the recordings and or its mixing and voicing facilities.

Hope you enjoy the set…dubbing at Aquarius Sounds….

CD Track Listing
1 Mix Up Dub
2 Breaking Dub
3 She Gone Dub
4 Cheater Dub
5 Fling Weh Your Guns Dub
6 Reggae Music Dub
7 Predator Dub
8 Emperor Dub
9 Roaming Dub
10 Love Dub
11 Olives Dub
12 Short Man Dub
13 Spainish Town To Kingston Town*
14 Treasure Dub*
15 Ice Cold Dub*
16 Zig Zag Dub*
CD Bonus Track

Vinyl Track Listing
Side 1
1 Mix Up Dub
2 Breaking Dub
3 She Gone Dub
4 Cheater Dub
5 Fling Weh Your Guns Dub
6 Reggae Music Dub

Side 2
1 Predator Dub
2 Emperor Dub
3 Roaming Dub
4 Love Dub
5 Olives Dub
6 Short Man Dub

Musicians Include:

Carlton ‘Santa’ Davis, Carlton Barrett & Sly Dunbar: Drums
Robbie Shakespear, George ‘Fully’ Fullwood, Earl ‘ Flabba’ Holt & Aston ‘Family Man’ Barrett: Bass
Earl ‘Chinna’ Smith, Tony Chin, Bingy Bunny & Willie Lingo: Guitar
Hux Brown: Lead Guitar
Winston Wright, Keith Sterling & Glastone ‘Gladdy’ Anderson: Keyboards
Jackie Mittoo: Piano
Noel ‘Skully’ Simms: Percussion
Bobby Ellis, Tommy McCook & Vin Gordon: Horns
Junior ‘Chico’ Chin, Dean ‘Youth Sax’ Fraser, Tony Green & Ronald ‘

Aquarius Recording Co, 9 Constant Spring Road, Half Way Tree, Kingston 10
Rhythms Recorded at: Aquarius Studios, Channel 1 & King Tubby’s
Voiced at: King Tubby’s Studio
Mixing by: Chris Daley & Mervyn Williams
Design by: Gary@Voodoo London
Made In the U.K.
All tracks copyright control